Tell me about yourself – a sample

Campus placements were buzzing in my sister’s college and I had to help her out with the HR interview questions and ‘be nice to her’ by writing up on the most dreaded “Tell me about yourself”. So here is the sample write-up I came up after gathering the details that she wanted to share with the interviewer. Sharing it here, as it can help everyone. This is just a sample write up which can be used as a reference.

***

I’m Akshaya from Chennai doing my final year engineering in Information Technology. I did my schooling in school-name, secured 87% and feel privileged to pursue my engineering in this prestigious institution.

I’m a passionate, optimistic & dedicated woman who takes up responsibilities with utmost enthusiasm and see to it that I complete my tasks and assignments in time. I’ve a great amount of perseverance to achieve my goal. My optimistic and planned approach in things I do is what driving me towards my success.

As how I strive for perfection in things, I expect the same from others as well. If things go out of control or go way out of track, I go an extra mile and contribute my efforts, in getting things done in time.

I love music – a good inclination towards Carnatic & a little of western. I do selectively read books mostly fiction & fantasy – Harry Potter, Narnia kind of, some cartoons occasionally too!

I come from Tamil Brahmin family born in Delhi and brought up in the multi-cultured, multi-cuisine flavours of Chennai. I’m the only daughter of my parents. I’ve an elder brother who is currently working in company-name and he has been my Wikipedia for everything under the sky. He inspired me in literally everything I do. I, being in IT derive knowledge and inspiration from him, as he is the source of constant support & help in all spheres of my life.

Well, that’s it!

***

This is just a two minute quick and brief write-up on ‘Tell me about yourself’. The idea is, everyone should have something like this written in paper and should give a quick read before the interview. This will help you to organize your thoughts and cascade the details which you are going to share in the interview.

Importantly, do not mug up your write-up. Be fluent and confident. If you miss out any point, you can always add it later on during the interview.

All the best!

PS: After my own First Interview Experience, I’m sharing another interview tip after a very long time. She is now placed in Infy! :)

5 thoughts on “Tell me about yourself – a sample

  1. Hello, this is Adan, I checked this site and I like it, becouse it explained how to talk about yourself in writting.
    Thank’s
    Adan Bernardino

Leave a Reply

